Saturday, December 11, 2010

Philosophy Homework

Cum Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc Dialogue

I used to believe that correlation implied causation until I took that statistics class

And now you don’t? It sounds like the statistics class really helped.

I’m not so sure.

Not so sure about what?

That the statistics class helped.

But you said that you used to believe that correlation implied causation until you took the statistics class.

Oh, that’s cute. You think that the statistics class changed my belief about correlation implying causation.

Yes. Didn’t it?

No. You see, just because there is a correlation between my attending the statistics class and my changing my beliefs does not mean that I changed my belief because of the statistics class.

Ahh. Hmmm.

And now I’ve killed the joke.

How so?

99.9% of jokes are rendered unfunny when the punchline or gag has to be explained. However, 90% of unfunny jokes are similarly rendered funny when the joke is explained, thus the advent of metahumor through statistics.

That’s funny.

No, it’s not.

It’s not?

No.

Wednesday, September 01, 2010

Career Aspirations

Earlier today, I was discussing with my Mother what sort of job I might wish to do for a living.
I was thinking that when I grow up, I should be a professor, or a lawyer, or a rabbi, or something fun like that.
My Mom thinks I should be a computational linguist.
I don't understand my parents at all.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Musings

Nick Drake plays his guitar in my ear, I struggle to think

“Write something” whispers my muse

“Write about the world, the way things are

“Write about revolution, people usually go for that

“Be evocative, a little evocation never hurt anybody

“Be repetitive, a little repetition never hurt anybody

“Pick a mood you like and evoke it

“Pick a word you like and repeat it

“Pick a poem you like and copy it

“Be hip, be modern, just throw some words on a page

“Use words,” she says “all the best poets use words”

My muse and I are no longer on speaking terms

Monday, June 14, 2010

Reading List - June 2010

I haven't updated the reading list in quite a while, so here we go. In no particular order, here is what I am reading or re-reading at the moment:

Principia Discordia, by Malaclypse the Younger & Omar Khayyam Ravenhurst;
The Last Unicorn, by Peter S. Beagle;
Trigun: Volume One, by Yasuhiro Nightow;
Fun Home, by Alison Bechdel;
The Faded Sun Trilogy, by C.J. Cherryh;
Fragile Things, by Neil Gaiman;
The Necronomicon, by "Simon";
The Complete Verse of Rudyard Kipling;
The Holy Bible, New King James Version;
The Collected Writings of Zelda Fitzgerald;
The Poetic Edda, Henry Adams Bellows translation;
The Meaning of the Holy Qu'ran, Abdullah Yusuf Ali translation.

What are you reading and why? I am always looking for new favorites.

Literally,

Stephen

The Stephen-ness of it all....

So, how is your day going?

Today was the last day of voice lessons for this school year. I really like my voice teacher, Kathyanne. She is "dramatic" - although to really get the idea you have to say that in a sing-song voice with jazz hands and spirit fingers. She is very over the top.

Kathyanne was discussing summer plans with my mother, and mentioned that she is holding a "Glee" camp based on the TV show. I like the TV show. I'm not terribly fond of dancing or, indeed, of other people, but I was considering attending the camp. Then Kathyanne mentioned that the camp is full of girls and she really, desperately needed boys who could sing. I'm a boy. I sing really well (if I do say so myself - and I do). At that point I was really interested in the camp.

But, before I could say anything - Kathyanne announced that the camp was not for me. She said I would "take over the whole thing." I don't really see the problem in that, but again, before I could add my opinion on the subject, Kathyanne said that she should just have me "teach a class on the Stephen-ness of it all."

In case anyone cares, I am generally OK with the idea of teaching a room full of high school-aged girls a class on the Stephen-ness of it all.

But, y'know...

So, yeah.

Stephen

Saturday, May 29, 2010

Change

To say that I don't like change is severe understatement. I resist change with every fiber of my being. My resistance most likely stems from issues resulting from Autism, but it is an integral facet of my personality and existence. Unfortunately for me, however, I live in a world that requires constant change. My family moves around a lot and having moved, they invariably begin the process of adapting to our new surroundings. It is the process of adapting or changing to which I object.

Most change begins with an announcement of impending doom; for example, "You need new shoes", or "We're buying you a new desk." It doesn't matter whether my shoes have been an inch too short for my feet for several weeks or if I've been balancing my desktop on empty moving boxes for months. I do not want to change them. I don't want new shoes or a new desk. The announcement triggers the process. It's the alarm bell to my system that says, "Hey! Stop that!”

I am an active resister. I complain. And then, I complain some more. There is generally quite a bit of whining involved. I dismiss ideas out of hand. The desk is too small or the shoes too uncomfortable. I know what I’m doing, but I am unable to stop myself. I tell myself that I could completely stop if I wanted to and that I just don’t want to. I’m lying. I really can’t stop it.

I notice that I’ve gotten quite a bit more self aware about these things. I know that I’ll probably like whatever it is we’re changing at some point in the future. I hate it now – but I’ll fight to keep it at that future time when it too will need to be replaced.

Saturday, April 17, 2010

Some Random Thingies For You To Read While I Think Of Something Meaningful To Say

I won 'Best Duo' at karaoke night at the place where I have voice lessons. My sister helped.

I was recently discussing stoic philosophy with my Mom; I brought up Epictetus and She started giggling. Sometimes I wonder about Her.

Two weeks ago, I said that I was going to try and write a song a week. I still haven't finished a song, but I've written several, so I'm counting it as a success.

I have a podcast. I've been releasing episodes monthly since January, but keep forgetting to mention it. Well, here it is.

Um, yeah,
Stephen

Friday, March 19, 2010

Adventures in System Administration

A few months ago, mid-October probably, my laptop (or 'Mercutio' as I call it) stopped being able to access the internet wirelessly. Since I'm always at my desk anyway and my dad refuses to let me use my sisters old laptop, I just made do with what I had and used an ethernet connection. Well, I discovered today that there was never anything wrong with my computer, turns out that the internet works fine, I'm just an idiot. You see, Mercutio has a little has a little switch on the front that turns wifi on and off, not knowing this switch was there, I'd left it off for months and months. A cursory examination of my laptop and a flick of a switch and wifi works perfectly again.

I cannot brain, I have the dumb.

Stephen

Sunday, February 28, 2010

On the use of the word "retard" as a Perjorative...

It is not ok.

NOT OK.

More to follow,

Stephen

I Need To Post More

Every so often, I google "Gifted Gear" or "Gifted Gear Reviews" to see what people have to say about my blog, or my music, or whatever.

Recently, having done that, I found an autism blog with my site on the associated blogroll. Nothing particularly unusual about that, until I clicked on the link and scrolled down a bit. I noticed that "Gifted Gear Reviews" was under the heading of "Dead Blogs"; which really annoyed me for some reason.

I'm not really sure why that annoyed me so much, especially considering that all the times my parents said "Hey, Stephen, you should write something" which elicited no reaction from me other than a mumbled "yeahsurewhatever."

But, long story short, I use too many commas. Aside from that, I've decided that I'm going to get rid of my "Posts that aren't long enough to qualify as a short essay are for LiveJournal" policy-that's-more-of-a-guideline-than-a-policy-anyway. So yeah.

More posts to follow,
Stephen